Hegerová, Hana
Potměšilý host – Písně Petra Hapky na slova Michala Horáčka

  • Format: LP
  • Band: Hegerová, Hana
  • Title: Potměšilý host – Písně Petra Hapky na slova Michala Horáčka
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: Chanson, female vocals
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2020
  • Recording Year: 1985-1986
  • Production Year: 1987/2020
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 6706-1
  • Color of the Label: dark green
  • Edition: 2020
  • Extras: fold out cover, inner sleeve
  • EAN: 099925670610
  • Weight: 331 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Supraphon Release Information

Music by Hapka, lyrics by Horáček, vocals by Hegerová

Three names that guarantee successful quality. The 1987 album “Potměšilý host” (The Shy Guest) is a great entry in the discography of Hana Hegerová, at that time already almost three decades at the top of Czechoslovak popular music. Hapka and Horáček wrote twelve songs for her, unmistakable in melody and vocabulary, which the singer turned into little song gems. Some of them became hits in the true and proper sense of the word. Apart from the irresistible “Levandulová” (Lavender), “Denim Blue” or “Vana plná fialek” (Bathtub Full of Violets) are also evergreens, and all the other songs form a perfectly coherent album.

A number of outstanding young musicians have appeared on it, even if stylistically seemingly from somewhere else. Saxophonist Štěpán Markovič, violinist Jan Hrubý, keyboardist Zdeněk Zdeněk, guitarist Michal Pavlíček or bassist Vladimír Kulhánek were more easily attributed to rock or jazz, here they helped to a subtly modern mainstream sound. Hana Hegerová has thus shifted in time and gained new listeners without losing any of the traditional chanson intensity.

The reissue has been given an up-to-date remastering.

One of the cornerstone projects in the history of our luxury pop. The meeting of three exceptional personalities = an ageless event.


Side A

1. Stín stíhá stín 4:13
2. Jinde 4:03
3. Levandulová 3:51
4. Gabriel 4:10
5. Všechno nejlepší 3:20
6. Vůně 2:45

Side B

7. Denim Blue 4:02
8. Žít a nechat žít 4:28
9. Vana plná fialek 3:30
10. Kolotoč 3:24
11. Táta měl rád Máju Westovou 3:26
12. Potměšilý host 5:01