Flamengo Reunion Session

  • Format: LP
  • Band: Flamengo Reunion Session
  • Title: Live
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: progressive Rock live
  • Rating: 5
  • Release Year: 2023
  • Recording Year: 2022
  • Production Year: 2022
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 6771-1
  • Color of the Label: red
  • Edition: original
  • Extras: 180 gram vinyl, inner sleeve
  • EAN: 099925677114
  • Weight: 281 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Supraphon Release Information

Vinyl version of the concert return of “Kuře v hodinkách” (Chicken in the Clock)

The two original members of the legendary Flamengo, guitarist Pavel Fořt and bassist Vladimír “Guma” Kulhánek, surrounded themselves with younger bandmates and delighted thousands of fans with dozens of concerts. Singer and organist Honza Holeček, drummer Jiří “Zelí” Zelenka and woodwind player Vladimír “Boryš” Secký helped to restart the band’s engine and bring back memories. In addition to the songs taken from the turn of the 60s and 70s, the basis of the performance is a substantial part of the cult album “Kuře v hodinkách” from 1972. Two performances in Prague’s Malostranská sloveda were recorded and this spring their cut was released on a successful CD, which is now released on 180 gram vinyl.

The psychedelic graphic design stands out in the elliptical format, the photographs and historical look back are a delight, but above all the consistently vital music, among the best ever produced in our rock scene.

All in all, it’s a great treat for impressionable old-timers, a lesson for eager young listeners, but above all proof that great covers performed by great old-timers work perfectly. The editing and mastering were done under the direct control of the band, the dense sound is clear and the audience reaction gratefully satisfied. Honza Holeček may have a different type of vocal than Vláďa Mišík once did, but he clearly proves that respectful innovation, full of contemporary energy, is a transgenerational pleasure.


Side A

1. Týden v elektrickém městě 4:23
2. I Am the Walrus 6:09
3. Too much Love Is a Bad Thing 4:37
4. Kuře v hodinkách (introdukce) 2:07
5. Rám příštích obrazů 4:06

Side B

1. Já a dým 5:17
2. Chvíle chvil 4:56
3. Stále dál 4:33
4. Kuře v hodinkách (studiová verze 2021) 5:41