Divokej Bill

  • Format: LP
  • Band: Divokej Bill
  • Title: Bazilišek
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: Folkrock, Rock
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2023
  • Recording Year: 2022-2023
  • Production Year: 2023
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 6795-1
  • Color of the Label: pictured
  • Edition: original
  • Extras: inner sleeves
  • EAN: 099925679514
  • Weight: 456 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Supraphon Release Information

Divokej Bill celebrate 25 years with their eighth album and releases it on vinyl!

In May a new album by Divokej Bill called “Bazilišek” (Basilisk) was released. However, it is not about the famous mythical creature, but a compilation of twelve new recordings that represent the Úval formation in the year when it celebrates twenty-five years on the scene. The songs for the new record were written continuously over the past years and their viability was tested by the band at their numerous concerts. From last summer to the present day, the Bills have been recording with their own meticulous care in the traditional SONO Doupě Records studio.

The eighth studio album “Bazilišek” presents Divokej Bill as their numerous fans like them. Expressive melodicism, singable choruses, semi-acoustic sound, sometimes spiced up by the distinctive electric guitar of frontman Václav Bláha, who himself defines the new album as a return to his roots. However, the first taste of the album could be heard at the end of 2022, when the film song “Temný král” (Dark King) appeared in the successful fairy-tale fantasy “Princezna zakletá v čase 2” (Princess Enchanted in Time 2), followed this spring by the single “Lahůdky” (Delicacies). The almost exclusive author of the new songs is Vašek Bláha, who is also the music producer this time. “Temný král” (Dark King) is the work of guitarist Roman Procházka.

“Bazilišek” is now released on double vinyl, in a special edition, where the album is divided into three sides, with the last side D without sound as a so-called “mirror”. The 2LP also includes one special bonus, a hidden recording, an unmarked surprise for the listener at the end of the whole album. It is an English version of the movie song “Temný král” called “The Dark King”. The author and lead singer is Roman Procházka, with the English lyrics helped by the British singer and composer James Harries, who has been living in Prague for a long time.


Side A

1. Běžící pás 3:30
2. Nostalgie 3:50
3. Magistrála 3:38
4. Lahůdky 4:29

Side B

1. Bazilišek 3:30
2. Sněžná 2:39
3. Maraton 3:20
4. Svět 3:37
5. Temný král 2:54

Side C

1. Soudci 4:10
2. Dvě kola 3:50
3. Svoboda 3:24
4. The Dark King (Temný král) 2:53