Jazz Q

  • Format: CD
  • Band: Jazz Q
  • Title: Rituál
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: Jazzrock, instrumental
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2023
  • Recording Year: 2022
  • Production Year: 2023
  • Record Company: Studio Budikov
  • Item's Number: SB 040
  • Color of the Label:
  • Edition:
  • Extras: digipak
  • EAN: 8594159980402
  • Weight: 62 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Studio Budíkov Release Information

After a two-year hiatus, Jazz Q releases another album on the Studio Budíkov label, the 24th “Rituál”, following on from the “Znovu”, “Talisman” and “Amulet” series from earlier years. The launch of the new CD will take place at Písecká brána in Dejvice on 15th February.

Martin Kratochvil’s Jazz Q group has been one of the cult bands on the Czechoslovakian and European music scene since its foundation in 1967. From its jazz origins, it moved to a much rockier genre around 1972 with the arrival of the English singer Joan Duggan. For several years she represented, perhaps thanks to her politically immune name, the pure rock scene at a time when massive purges and bans affected famous Czech rock formations.

Jazz Q will soon celebrate 55 years of its long musical life. The band has toured all over the world, won many festivals and released dozens of now iconic albums, some of which (1977’s Elegy) have won major recognition from the English press as the eighth most influential album of the last century.

It also seems that the instrumental concert quartet playing full-blooded jazz rock is perhaps one of only few in Europe today concentrating on the genre. Fusion, another name for the jazz-rock synthesis the band began in the Czechoslovakia years ago, is once again back in the spotlight for more receptive listeners.


1. Panna nebo orel 5:17
2. Chladna z rána 3:54
3. Holobyt 5:30
4. Fetiš 5:53
5. Ranní rituál 4:22
6. Provazochodec 4:39
7. Tutovka 4:20
8. Ranhojič 5:22
9. Pečeť 4:34