• Format: LP
  • Band: Haustor
  • Title: Haustor
  • Band's Origin: YU
  • Style: Wave
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2021
  • Recording Year: 1981
  • Production Year: 1981/2021
  • Record Company: Croatia Records
  • Item's Number: LP 6095995
  • Color of the Label: black/silver 1
  • Edition: 2021
  • Extras: clear 180 gram vinyl, fold out cover, booklet
  • EAN: 3850126095995
  • Weight: 382 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Croatia Records Release Information

Croatia Records continues with the celebration of 40 years of new wave and presents the fourth luxury vinyl reissue that new wave fans have been waiting for a long time.

It is the cult first album of the legendary group Haustor (Front Door), which contains songs such as “Moja prva ljubav” (My First Love), “Radio” (Radio), “Mijenjam se” (I Am Changing Myself), “Tko je to” (Who Is that), “Crni žbir” (Black Scum), “Duhovi” (Ghosts) and “’60 – ’65”. It is the album that first of all delighted the audience because it had an interesting approach of two creative minds, Srđan Sacher and Darko Rundek. One brought his ethnomusicological interests into the sound of the band, and the other a theatrical approach, which resulted in a sound that was unique in Yugoslavia at the time.

“While recording the Haustor album, I tried to enter the world of imagination of the then young, super talented Darko Rundek, and it was a valuable life experience for me. Today’s popularity and quality of that album are the proof that we did a really good job”, wrote the album’s sound master Hrvoje Hegedušić, while the producer Husein “Hus” Hasanefendić wrote that it was fun, instructive, but a somewhat tiring experience: “Balancing between two creative egos such as Rundek and Sacher, who pull everyone to their side, and at the same time incorporating some of my own vision into the project, was almost more of a diplomatic than a production job.”

“I am glad and proud that I participated in something that was and remains amongst the best that has happened in Yugoslavia in music. No one was imprisoned, no one got an apartment. Then, like today, the so-called folk stars were much more popular than us. For me, it was the soundtrack of a time and a class of citizens that has since disappeared, and I called it lumpen intelligence. All in all, I think that we mostly took advantage of the historical opportunity for ours to be heard, although I must say that, if there was any criticism of social phenomena, mine was from the left. Rebellion? It is natural for a young man to rebel. It is not natural that he does not protest. Dark. Curtain. Applause. There is no encore”, says Srđan Sacher.

“At that time, I was obsessed with radio dramas, so we had that formal stylistic deviation towards radio drama that no one else had. Although at the time I couldn’t point my finger at someone who was inspired by Haustor. 10, 15 or 20 years later, many people recognized the band and even drew inspiration from what we were doing”, Darko Rundek points out.

The accompanying booklet of the album contains texts by Hrvoje Hegedušić, Dubravko Majnarić, Husein “Hus” Hasanefendić and the editor of the edition, Nikola Knežević, who spoke with Srđan Sacher, Darko Rundek and Ozren Štiglić, while at the end of the booklet all the members of Haustor at that time look back on the album 40 years after. The texts are accompanied by copies of original documents from the archives of Jugoton, i.e. Croatia Records, as well as by photos of Sanda Hržić and Andrija Zelmanović. The album comes on 180-gram transparent, white vinyl, and the packaging with a download code for the the mp3 version of the album remastered from the original tapes by Goran Martinac from Croatia Records Studio. The graphic preparation of the customized original design was done by Darko Kujundžić.

Full album:


Side A

1. Radio 2:51
2. Mijenjam se 1:57
3. Tko je to 2:08
4. ’60 – ’65 3:13
5. Moja prva ljubav 5:23

Side B

1. Noć u gradu 3:17
2. Crni žbir 3:34
3. Duhovi 5:45
4. Lice 3:45