• Format: CD
  • Band: Laterna
  • Title: Lato
  • Band's Origin: PL
  • Style: instrumental experimental Rock
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2009
  • Recording Year: 2005
  • Production Year: 2009
  • Record Company: Obuh
  • Item's Number: D 22
  • Color of the Label:
  • Edition:
  • Extras: poster cover
  • EAN: without EAN
  • Weight: 52 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Obuh Release Information

After releasing the Laterna winter session on a first vinyl album we have revealed material from the summer session which took place in Rogalów Analogowy in their usual iron line-up in 2005: Ryszard Latecki – Indian harmonium, trumpet, harmonium, conch, semi-fretless acoustic guitar called latara, Gintautas Gascevičius – percussion, Bartek Pałyga – cello, harmonium, throat singing, Tibetan pipe and Tadeusz Wielecki – double bass.

Here Laterna shows the rare ability of creating surprisingly matured and concrete compositions. The two pieces “Latecki’s Blade” and “Variations with a Razor” were inspired by the minimal music of Steve Reich. Laterna plays flowery minimal melodies, dervish rhythms and contemporary improvised harmonies smelling like pears. We may hear some oriental, no drugs psychedelia and contemporary music influences. Everything was taken live, acoustic and with no overdubs in the Rogalów Analogowy Studio with a use of classic vintage tube equipment. So the sound is natural and very musical.

Released on two compact discs with analog quality in a multi-fold out cover.


CD 1

1. Paplynie 20:35
2. Sen latarnika / Lighthouse Keeper’s Dream 4:57
3. Murek celtycki / Celt Stone Wall 8:04
4. Brzeszczot Lateckiego / Letecki’s Blade 9:47

CD 2

1. Wariacje z brzytwą / Variations with a razor 11:02
2. Weneriusz tańczy po raz drugi / Venerius Is Dancing One more Time 5:48
3. W brzuchu kangura / In Kangaroo’s Stomach 7:35
4. Zagubiony we mgle, ale jest na to rada – bączek przeciwmgłowy 4:18
5. Zawrót głowy / Vertigo 18:54