• Format: LP
  • Band: Fermáta
  • Title: Fermáta
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: progressive Rock, instrumental
  • Rating: 5
  • Release Year: 2018
  • Recording Year: 1975?
  • Production Year: 1975/2018
  • Record Company: Opus
  • Item's Number: 91 0374-1
  • Color of the Label: beige
  • Edition: 2018
  • Extras: 180 gram vinyl
  • EAN: 8584019037414
  • Weight: 263 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Opus Release Information

In musical terminology Fermáta means the graphic designation for elongation of a certain tone; the measure of this elongation is not specified. The symbolics of this name correspond with the tendency of the equally named rock group whose charateristic feature is the combination of the abrupt discipline with elemental spontaneity.

The music of the quartet is mostly written in music papers; only a small part is left for improvisation. The basic principle of music organisation in original compositions is a disturbance of the usual chain “theme – improvisation – theme”. The first part of the composition “Perpetuum II” is formed by an introductory model of ostinato followed by improvised solos of percussion instruments and a synthesizer; not sooner than at the start of the middle part, the central melody, played by the guitar with the help of the playback unison, begins for the first time. The sound of the group is thoroughly electrified by the electrophonic guitar, the electrophonic piano and the synthesizer. In comparison with most of the other rock groups with the analogous structure of instruments, Fermáta works sensitively with dynamic shades and does not aim at shocking the audience by the torrent of decibels. Music tectonic components: rhythm (various metric zones alternate in most compositions), harmony (melodic motion often passes above the tonal center), melody and the total sound serve for the expression of the wide range of moods.

Some compositions originate from the script of the programme. “Waltz for Godmother” is to represent a Saturday morning in a large house. The lyrical introduction developes an atmosphere representing the transition between the peace of a night and the awakening, then the rhythmical model of ostinato represents the rush for shopping, beating of carpets and the solo of the synthesizer is the wording of gossipy women neighbours. The following passage could be the musical picture of a family trip. Of course, we should be able to construct a lot of other diametrically different stories to the same music, therefore, Fermáta’s concentration on the creation of different mood shades plays the important role in this coherence.

An interesting example could be expressed by “Perpetuum III”, in which the expressive A part (5/4 and 7/4 meters alternate here) is followed by the contrasting lyrical part B1 (in 4/4 metre) and after that the variant B2 brings the same melody different only in register which creates the original mood. In some parts the stylized sound effects (rustle of the sea, ticking of the clock, laughter, etc.) are used for emphasizing an onomatopic sound. This access tempts the listener to visual and associated imaginations, which at the same time, with the primary listening function predestinates the group for scenical utilization. This possibility is not only potential: the quartet has already composed the scenical music for five theatre plays and two live television shows.

Fermáta arose in the year 1973 and consists of young musicians (at the time of this recording their age was from twenty to twenty six). František Griglák, a former member of the groups Prúdy (Streams) and Collegium Musicum, is the most experienced of them. The other musicians had been members of various rock groups before Fermáta arose and these recorded compositions are their debut on a gramophone record. We believe that this first gramophone record of Fermáta will arise the interest of this prospective group and will support its members in seeking the adequate musical expression of today.

Igor Wasserberger, 1975

Kalemegdan Disk Additions

During the second half of the Seventies, Fermáta was one of the leading progressive rock bands in Eastern Europe, playing varied instrumental music on a constantly high level. Their debut album has been reissued from the original mastertapes in a 100% analogue way. The combination of the band’s music, improved possibilities in Czechoslavakian studios in the mid-Seventies and a repressing made by the German Pallas – maybe the best press factory for vinyl in continental Europe today – allow a delightful listening, even without the slightest background crackling in the quiet parts of the record.

Here you can listen an elder edition of this excellent album: youtube.com/watch?v=i0KkP_iVwHI.


Side A

Rumunská rapsódia / Roumanian Rhapsody 5:54
Perpetuum II 10:27
Postavím si vodu na čaj / I’ll Put the Kettle on 4:20

Side B

Valčík pre krstnú mamu / Waltz for Godmother 7:01
Perpetuum III 11:43